Thursday, 28 July 2016

Focus on EYFS: Breaking it down

The EYFS is split into seven areas of development.
The three prime areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language
And the four specific areas:
  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design
The prime areas are fundamental to a child's development. They provide the foundations upon which all other learning is built and so, tend to be the focus for the first three to four years of a child's life. The specific areas provide important skills and knowledge that our children will need throughout their lives. 

Each of the areas of development are then broken down into smaller focus areas called aspects. These aspects make it easier to look at what a child is doing in more detail. 

Personal, Social, Emotional Development
  • Making relationships
  • Self-confidence and self-awareness
  • Managing feelings and behaviour
Physical Development
  • Moving and handling
  • Health and self-care
Communication and Language
  • Listening and attention
  • Understanding
  • Speaking
  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Numbers
  • Shape, space and measure
Understanding the World
  • People and communities
  • The world
  • Technology
Expressive Arts and Design
  • Exploring and using media and materials
  • Being imaginative
Each of these areas of development are also subdivided into overlapping age bands, that suggest a typical rate of development.
  • Birth - 11 months
  • 8 - 20 months
  • 16-26 months
  • 22-36 months
  • 30-50 months
  • 40-60+ months
  • Early Learning Goals
Recently, Baobao has turned 17 months. Looking at our copy of the EYFS, she is working within the 16-26 months age band for most areas of development. Over the next few months, I will be looking at each of the areas more closely for this age band and posting about it. I will also be posting activities that I do with her, that fall within this developmental age band. 

No comments:

Post a Comment